You are here
Home > TV Review

How to cancel your Netflix subscription

There are lots of good reasons to have a Netflix account; these days it hosts some of the best TV shows and movies on the planet, including The Good Place, Bojack Horseman, The Crown, Black Mirror, and more.

But what if you’re done with your Netflix account? With the recent price hike, you may be deciding the cost is a bit rich and it’s time to save some cash.

The cheapest Netflix plan in the US is now $9 (£5.99 / AU$9.99), while its HD Standard plan (the most popular) costs $13 (£7.99 / AU$13.99), up from $11. The 4K Premium plan is also going up in price, to $16 (£9.99 / AU$17.99) from $14.

Whether you’re on a TV detox, heading to a rival like Amazon Prime, or are just sick of your ex logging into your account behind your back, here’s how you can delete your Netflix subscription once and for all.

If you have a streaming subscription with Netflix that you want to cancel, you first need to head to the Netflix app, or open it up in your web browser. Then, click on your account icon in the top right corner of the page, and select ‘Account’.

Under the ‘Membership & Billing’ section, you’ll see a button that says ‘Cancel Membership’ – click on this, and you’ll be taken to a new page, where you have the option to either cancel your membership or downgrade your current plan.

If you’re on a HD Standard or 4K Premium plan, you may want to try downgrading your account to a Standard Definition plan to save a bit of money without losing your access to the streaming platform all together.

If not, click on the ‘Finish Cancellation’ button to stop your subscription. Once you’ve cancelled your subscription, you’ll still have access to your Netflix account until the end of the current billing period.

If you have a Netflix gift card or promotional balance left on your account when you cancel, you’ll still be able to stream until the balance runs out – after this, the cancellation will go into effect automatically.

For up to 10 months after you cancel your subscription, your profile, favorite shows, and account details can be reinstated. All you have to do is re-subscribe to the service, and all your viewing preferences will be there waiting for you.

Top